One Way

If I close my eyes
And turn away from the night
Will I find my way
Back into the light

Words conspire
To draw blood from my flesh
Open fire
Kill while the killing is fresh

And the new conspiracy
Same as the old conspiracy
To drive a wedge in
Between you and me

So who’s to say
Who is wrong and who’s right
Taking for granted
We know wrong from right

And the loss we feel
And the hurt inside
Are now dripping onto the floor
Showing everyone what we hide

And the sin and the words
And the deeds and the hurt
All the pain that is felt
By all the lost of this world

Will never go away
With the words that we say
By the good deeds invented
By men of this world

Only One has the power
To redeem what was lost
To pay for the sins
To hang on a cross

Only GOD has been right
When it came time to judge
When all made by man
Could only hold a grudge

Pride and rebellion
The crutches we need
Are now gone by the wayside
With our overblown greed

So come to this place
Sit at the table
Partake of forgiveness
While you are still able

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑